Strangely Addictive No.4- Mayday ! Mayday! May Special Version.

Today’s the first day of May! 25 days since I left Blogger and headed towards the greater good.

Since I have pretty much nothing significant to talk about, I decided to do a super Strangely Addictive post.

Yes, tackling several addicting things ( at least in my opinion) at one go.

Number 1: Small-time bands

Everyone’s heard of bands like Green Day, OneRepublic and even , if you want to stretch the boundaries on what constitutes a ‘band’, the HTT.  However, just as how diamonds are extremely rare to find,  so are good musicians. It started out as an attempt to clear my music library of bland band tracks and abandoned Anime soundtracks, which was when I stumbled upon several small bands- those that hardly (or even never) get broadcasted on the radio.

One example being Quietdrive. I’m currently addicted to their album, Deliverance, especially on their rocking tracks like the title song, Deliverance and others like Take Me Now. This band cured my abhorrence for American music. I used to despise the radio thanks to the likes of songs about fornication and sex and whatnot being more and more popular. Every 3 songs , one is about sex. Furthermore – the bad singers flood the radio – Justin Bieber? Really? Not that I’m jumping on the Anti-Bieber bandwagon just because of peer pressure, it’s because seriously, he sounds like an average girl, yet everyone seems to love him. Lady Gaga – stomping all over Queen’s legacy by defiling their song, Radio Gaga. I really loved that song.

Number 2: Humorous Songs

What are humorous songs? Well, if you don’t know, search a dictionary. In essence, a humorous song is a song with jocular lyrics. It usually makes no sense whatsoever, yet some make it big time on the radio:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYws8biwOYc

i’m awsome!!!
no you’re not dude don’t lie
i’m awsome!!!
i’m drivin around in my mom’s ride
i’m awsome!!!
a quarter of my life gone by and
i met all my friends online
i’m awsome!!!
i will run away from a brawl
i’m awsome!!!
there’s no voice mail nobody called
i’m awsome!!!
i can’t afford to buy eight ball
and i talk to myself
on my facebook wall

you know my pants sag low (low)
even though (though) that went out of style
like ten years ago (go)
spose, i got the swagger of a cripple
i got little biceps,
getting fatter in the middle

and lyrically i’m not the best
physically the opposite of randy
moss and yet so preposterous
feel the awesomeness the most obnoxious
guest up at the sausage fest
oh yes!
the girls are repulsed so i hide
in my hood like i’m joining a cult
uh uhh
i’m as nervous as my cattle dirty curtis
all my writtens are bitten and
all my verses are purchased
me? i’ii never date an actress
got to many back zits
plus my whole home aroma is cat piss
every show i do is poorly
promoted and if you like this
it’s cuz my little sister wrote it

i’m awsome!!!
no you’re not dude don’t lie
i’m awsome!!!
i’m drivin around in my mom’s ride
i’m awsome!!!
a quarter of my life gone by and
i met all my friends online
i’m awsome!!!
i will run away from a brawl
i’m awsome!!!
there’s no voice mail nobody called
i’m awsome!!!
i can’t afford to buy eight ball
and i talk to myself
on my facebook wall

swagger of a cripple

check it out

i’m from maine and i don’t hunt nope
and i can’t ski
smoke weed but i can’t roll blunts
maight be with my wifey
my necjs not icy
eatin’ at mcdonalds because subway is pricey

uh and my unibrow is plucked
just ask my mom if i could borrow ten bucks
shes like “for what?
blunt wraps and some heinekens?
you skinny prick, go get a gym membership and vitamins”
i’m like mom please don’t blame it on me
i got my bad habits from
you, dad, and aunt steve
my attitudes sour but my futon’s sweet
and the hair on my ass it is jumanji

suit untailored, ringtone taylor swift
can’t tweet up on my twitter
cuz i haven’t done shit
blank account red, body ungroomed
the good thing about me is i’m off stage soon

i’m awsome!!!
no you’re not dude don’t lie
i’m awsome!!!
i’m drivin around in my mom’s ride
i’m awsome!!!
a quarter of my life gone by and
i met all my friends online
i’m awsome!!!
i will run away from a brawl
i’m awsome!!!
there’s no voice mail nobody called
i’m awsome!!!
i can’t afford to buy eight ball
and i talk to myself
on my facebook wall

futher more i’m cornier than ethynol
cheesier than provolone
i spent years eight to ten living in a motor home
with a ego the size of tim duncan
even though i got shit for brains like a blumpkin
i’m twenty four serving lobster rolls
bacause i spent a decade filling
optimuos and i’m not even the bomb in maine
on my game and only about as sexy as john mccain

i’m awsome!!!
no you’re not dude don’t lie
i’m awsome!!!
i’m drivin around in my mom’s ride
i’m awsome!!!
a quarter of my life gone by and
i met all my friends online
i’m awsome!!!
i will run away from a brawl
i’m awsome!!!
there’s no voice mail nobody called
i’m awsome!!!
i can’t afford to buy eight ball
and i talk to myself
on my facebook wall

I’m Awesome is by Spose, who recently made it onto Singapore radio airtimes, especially on 987fm.

There are several others as well, for instance The Lonely Island:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UBCrsaet-2Q&feature=related

I guess humorous songs have added appeal to me because:

  1. They usually have a catchy rhythm
  2. They don’t keep singing on and on about the singer’s imaginary sexual prowess.
  3. They don’t get whored upon by the media.
  4. They are lighthearted- cheers me up.

Do you know any humorous songs? Feel free to tell me via comments – any language will do, as long as it’s funny.

Number 3: Hatsune Miku

When Miku Append was released, I was highly sceptical about it. Really? A upgrade for Miku instead of a new Vocaloid? I predicted it to be really horrid, and promised to slap myself if it wasn’t.

I slapped myself.

Surprisingly, Miku Append is really nice to listen to. With the likes of squeaky music like Go!Go!Maniac! stirring up storms on the internet over ‘squeaky’ Miku songs, Miku Append comes to save the day.

Give some of her songs a shot:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-InHb9510YQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GKFPVQcoydA

Rin: They just keep floating...

Number 4: This.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bAN7Ts0xBo&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nZJX-ySkQXc&feature=player_embedded

Number 5: Anime blogging.

Of course. I apologise for the lack of much anime posts lately, examinations are here and I have less time for anime nowadays. Of course, I’ll try to do more posts when I can and I can post daily during June. So bear with me for a second…

Well, that sums up Strangely Addictive No.4. Stay tuned for the next post ^^

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Strangely Addictive No.4- Mayday ! Mayday! May Special Version.

  1. Pingback: Posts I’d rather not visit ever again | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

Comments are closed.