An Introduction

Actually a love story.

As you may have guessed, I’m the latest addition to the AOIA team. The first thing you’re probably wondering is: “What kind of person are you?” Well, let me answer that. I consider myself a rather average person. I do the minimum of what needs to be done, and I waste more time than I should entertaining myself. For me, this primarily consists of watching YouTube, watching anime, and reading manga.

Now for the more important stuff. What can you expect me to bring to the table? From what I’ve seen, AOIA doesn’t particularly focus on the episodic style of blogging. I’ve even read certain posts here in disapproval of such a style, and I understand the sentiment. With practically all of the aniblog community doing the same thing, it really makes you want to do something different to stand out. Despite everything though, that’s exactly what I’ll be bringing to you guys, so buckle your seatbelts and grab your sick bags.

I’m sure you’ve all heard of Random Curiosity. It’s considered one of those “aniblog giants” with millions of views (or something like that). My posts will essentially follow their style; a bunch of images followed by a segment of text. I’ve read a variety of blogs that go over different blogging styles and what makes or breaks them. The danger of the episodic summary/review, of course, is that you bore the reader with images and words of what he/she has just seen. The silver lining of this cloud, then, is that I hope to provide some thoughtful insight or even just clarify anything that could have been confusing. At the very root of it all though, episodic summaries/reviews are really just designed to offer what the writer thought of the episode, or perhaps the anime as a whole.

With introductions out of the way, I’ll contradict what I just said by making my first post a commentary on a rather sensitive topic. Just what makes a show “unwatchable”? Is the anime industry really going downhill? Of course, the very act of writing about this defeats its own purpose, as all I’m doing is offering yet another personal opinion instead of stating solid facts (not that those even exist). Regardless, a line has to be drawn somewhere, so I’ll momentarily forget about the futility of the debate.

Exhibit A.

I’ll be frank. I’m a very mainstream person. Yet, I see a lot of “mainstream” bloggers/writers who very harshly critique shows. Yes, I understand that everyone has some sort of standard, but the pervasiveness of this harsh view is really excessive to me. So an anime appears generic. It’s got a wimpy/dense male lead and multiple attractive, well-endowed girls (plus the obligatory loli/flat-chest) drooling over him. Now to publicly lambast it and dissuade everyone from watching it. I for one don’t see anything wrong with such shows. Sure, they may not be deep and thought-provoking, but not everything has to be. Just because it’s not outstanding doesn’t mean it’s automatically terrible. In fact, it is these very “generic” shows that make the “better” ones stand out. If all anime were made to fit your every ideal, I bet you’d still complain about them being “generic” and “terribad”.

The point is, I feel that all of this negativity is extremely overblown and completely unnecessary. If you don’t like a show, then that’s too bad for you. Just suck it up and move on. You know what I do if I come across a show I don’t think I’ll like? I don’t watch it in the first place. And if a show that I watch turns out to be less than satisfactory? I just drop it and forget about it. That should be like a catch phrase; drop it and forget it. Let others decide for themselves whether something is bad. The opposite, on the other hand, is fine. If you feel strongly that a show is good, then there’s no harm in promoting it. There’s a reason why there are laws against defamation but none against praise (at least, not false praise). I guess if I had to put all this to a social analogy, it’s almost as if the “hipster” attitude has become mainstream, which is really ironic. “X has Y, which has been done Z times before, so I’ll hate on it because that makes me sound sophisticated.” Pfft. I’ll watch ”generic” anime any day as long as they entertain me. If you can’t find enjoyment in such things, then just leave them be.

They gave her cat ears? Oh teh noes! All "respect" lost!

Oh, and what about fanservice, the “bane” of all things anime? “They made Asuka a moeblob in Rebuild so now I must hate on all things Rebuild.” Really, that’s rich. It worries me that the portrayal of a single character can so strongly move your opinion on the entire work. Even if that one character missed the mark for you, there’s still the whole rest of the show to enjoy. Here’s an even better one. “Ugh, fanservice? Grow up!” Now that’s just backward. I may not be a “grown up”, but I’m certainly not a horny teen. Let me tell you something. I don’t care. Oh look, boobs! Random panty shot! Big deal. It’s really silly to feel the need to especially single them out for scrutiny. It’s called sex appeal. It’s everywhere. More importantly, it works. Take a class in advertising/marketing.

Tl;dr yet? This is probably the longest post you’ll ever see from me, given that it is essentially a rant. I’ll start making more “regular” posts as soon as all the paperwork and whatnot gets done (apparently there is no paperwork at all). Oh, and excuse me. Where are my manners? I’m Smiley. Thank you for having me.

About Sumairii

Mad scientist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to An Introduction

  1. Yamadipati says:

    Ah yes… fresh meat…

    Will be waiting to see more of you

  2. @fkeroge says:

    Welcome aboard, man.

    Recently, we have been doing episodics as well. My only advice is to try and keep it simple. My personal policy when it comes to episodics is to never go over 700 words and put images in between chunks of text.

    Though editorials are still very much preferred.

  3. Welcome to AOIA. You sure as hell sound like you’ll do better than me ;D

  4. Azure says:

    Welcome, the more the merrier as they say~
    @Valen: you aren’t going to fire me yet? LOL

  5. Valence says:

    Welcome aboard. Feel free to hone your blogging style in whatever way you wish. We won’t stop you.

    Interesting introduction post. I wonder if your episodic posts will be the same? Your style is very funny and engaging to read, frank and straightforward with just a touch of colour to spruce things up. Looking forward to your posts.

  6. Smiley says:

    Thanks for the warm welcome! If I were a stuffed animal, I’d be all warm and fuzzy inside. Actually, that’s how they usually are anyway.

    My episodic posts will probably be a little less personal than this one, but I’ll still be sprinkling in my opinions here and there. I might just deviate from what I’ve been doing though, and throw in a couple more of these less formal posts. They’re really just a sort of stream of consciousness which I then proofread and edit multiple times. Perhaps at that point they can no longer be considered a stream of consciousness?

    Here is an obligatory emoticon: ø(._.<)

  7. John Sato says:

    The thing to realize is that a lot of time for episodic blogging, people find that their opinions match those of the person who blogs them. After a while, assuming the reader consistently agrees with the blogger’s views (easier than it sounds, because you don’t need 100% consistency), then the reader gets a feeling for the blogger’s tastes and opinions. Since many of the people who watch anime are in their 20’s, busy with a job or grad school or whatever (more so than, say, highschoolers), they don’t have time to watch a show just to decide whether or not it’s worth their time. That’s where the bloggers come in. If the reader is familiar with the blogger’s tastes and opinions, then they know what to expect and can make a better decision that won’t end in a waste of time. I know 25 minutes may not seem like much, but it doubles with every additional episode. Watch 5 episodes, that’s over 2 hours right there.

    All that said, I definitely agree that it’s wrong to take a single point about an anime and base it off of that. I mean, I’d certainly complain about a terrible character, but as long as they don’t take up a ton of the screentime (unlike, say, Satoshi in Hyouka), I’m okay with it. The same goes for fanservice. The point I agree with you the most on, though, is the “generic, stereotypical” one. I’ve always disliked it when people proclaim shows as bad apparently for the sole reason that the idea’s been done before. Honestly, as nice as unique premises are, the magic is in the execution. And even if it does something else “stereotypically,” I still fail to see the big deal with it. And that’s definitely a nice point on the sex appeal, because it’s both a reason for and against. It definitely has its uses, and if used stylistically it can add a really nice edge to a show. On the other hand, for those people who *recognize* that it’s sex appeal usually do what you did: attach the idea to marketing. Some people really don’t like being able to clearly see that they’re being advertised to. It tends to make them think of a product to get money, rather than as a work of art (which is what they want). So I think that’s why some people don’t like it. Again, I don’t think it’s that big a deal.
    And with that, I turn your words right back at you: Tl;dr yet?

    Anyways, it’s nice to meet you. I look forward to your other posts (even if they aren’t as in-depth as this one), and I hope they stimulate as much discussion as this one did! Good job, keep up the nice work.

  8. Wow this place is growing in numbers!
    Nice to see it evolve. I remember the first days of this blog haha, Im sure valen remembers too ^^

    Well nice to meet you!

  9. Someone says:

    I really like this guy. Seems very down-to-earth type. Also just love this blog community, so welcoming. Yeah, do your own thing. I like it.

  10. Carillus says:

    Welcome aboard. I’m glad to see that AOIA’s sparsely populated “drop it and forget it” club now has a new member.

Comments are closed.