Kuttsukiboshi : Tangled Stars, OVA Episode 1 Review

You should be able to guess what happens to these tangled stars at the end.

Kuttsukiboshi is the latest anime to come out of Primastea, the company which brought you classics like Isshoni Training and of course, their only other work, Isshoni Sleeping. Done by one guy on his computer, you can’t blame him for the defects in art style. However, what you can do is praise him on the storyline.

Basically, Kuttsukiboshi stars Kawakami Kiiko, who gains telekinetic powers after a car accident and gains the power to move things with her mind. Not much items though, mostly small and light objects. She’s in love with her classmate, Saitou Aya, who discovers her power and even trains her in it, keeping it a secret.Eventually, they fall in love with one another. What a coincidence.

Speaking of coincidences, that’s exactly what this Anime offers us plenty of – coincidences. It’s a coincidence that Aya finds her powers, a coincidence that Aya’s brother is the same musician Kiiko loves, and a coincidence that Kiiko chances upon Aya and her brother having sex. Ray over at AnimeDiet seems to think so too. Really, everything seems like a set pattern. This leads to everything being way too predictable. You’ll see what I mean later.

That’s some good drama right there. Drama in my yuri show? We hardly see any drama in yuri OVAs, so I guess you would have to give Primastea some recognition. However, I am thankful this is a 2-episode show. Otherwise, what would have been 19 minutes of awesome character meshing and lovey-dovey would have went down the drain. For reasons unknown, it appears that Aya’s a bisexual. Talk about a multifaceted personality.

So Kiiko runs, just like pretty much any other distraught female lead out there: she runs out, dropping her bags and running into the rain. She then looks at her necklace and finds that surprise : the unbreakable tangled stars Aya had given to her had come apart. Metaphors 101, I’m sure you don’t need much help in figuring out why. At the start, Aya tells Kiiko to try and break it apart, but she fails, a metaphor for their relationship then, and you get the point. On the plus side, you know the drama element has succeeded when you feel an innate urge to try and stab that character in the face with that star she’s holding. You feel curious. You feel enraged even. That’s what I felt. What the fuck was she doing having sex with her brother? I wouldn’t know either. Do they get back together? I’m hoping for a happy end, although an ending where Aya gets murdered would suffice too. Or something along those lines. Good shows make you feel for the characters.

As we can see, what Primastea has succeeded in is building drama and tension between the characters. I already can’t wait for the next episode to be released. The storyline is interesting enough, although we probably won’t see Kiiko’s ability having much practical use other than getting cats out of trees.

Now , now, before anyone who watches it (It’s translated on UTW, btw) starts raging about it, you have to admit that for a OVA, it isn’t too bad, considering Primastea’s history. However, almost no time is spent wasted on character development – they just dive right in. I don’t like that. Not at all. From the start, we’re told it is a one-sided love affair –  Kiiko is secretly in love with Aya. And then , when Aya is sleeping, with Kiiko looking at her, she pulls her in for a kiss, and thus begins their love affair. Sometimes I wonder whether Aya loves her at all. Perhaps she’s a nympho, just like Haruka.

I’m looking forward to the next episode.I want to see how it all turns out, although I can roughly guess:

“Drama

Brother leaves

Reconcilation

Sex

Necklace somehow rejoins the two stars together

Happy End.”

Hoping that the next episode doesn’t disappoint. For one of the initial anime by Primastea, it could decide its reputation for years to come.

About ValenceS2

"The ability to quote is a serviceable substitute for wit. "- Somerset Maugham QED
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Kuttsukiboshi : Tangled Stars, OVA Episode 1 Review

  1. biotoxic says:

    Sounds interesting – I’d never heard of this before now. I think I’ll give this a go when I get a chance (gah I’m falling behind with a lot of series at the moment). Thanks for the heads up.

    • Valence says:

      Also, it’s a fall show apparently. I honestly didn’t hear of this until I went to the UTW website.

      The art seems to remind me of Voices of a Distant Star, mainly because they’re both drawn by one guy on a laptop, apparently. You can tell by the background. The trees look like paintings, and their faces change shape and bend the laws of physics.

      Nevertheless, it’s a ok-ok watch, you might want to pick it up.

  2. Nopy says:

    This is the first time I’ve heard of this anime. Time to go check it out :)

    • Valence says:

      I just found out, actually. Go check it out, it’s up at Unlimited Translations Works.

      • Nopy says:

        I just watched it, and I have to say I’m very impressed. The animation wasn’t too great, but I loved the story. I really hope the wait for the next episode isn’t too long.

        • Valence says:

          The animation is done by only one guy, so I guess it can’t be helped. I hope the next episode comes soon, I’m excited to watch it.

  3. hiroy_raind says:

    hetero sex? on a yuri anime!?

    I got some other comments, but I think I should hold it until I watched it. See you later.

  4. flyzice says:

    It is after reading this post that I’ve watched Kuttsukiboshi. I’m not sure how I like it. The development of the story seems so rushed but the cliffhanger made me want to watch the next episode.

    My wish is for a happy ending.

    • Valence says:

      Yep, I wish for a happy ending too.

      But you can’t really say it’s rushed, after all it’s two episodes long, so you can’t really blame them. I sit on the fence right now over whether I like it or not.

  5. Persocom says:

    Oh, I had planned on watching this but I completely forgot about it, thanks for the reminder :3

Comments are closed.